Injured With Shock Collar at Canine Country

24 10 2009
Shawn Riley

Owner of Canine Country, Shawn Riley

In 2005, I boarded my dog at Canine Country in Tualatin, Oregon. The owner, Shawn Riley, told me that, during her stay, my Pit Bull began to act agressively toward the other dogs (all the dogs are kept in one large enclosure at this place — bad idea). Instead of simply separating her from the others, he opted to use a shock collar on her. This was done without my permission. The shock collar caused a serious injury. When we retrieved our dog from Canine Country, she was bleeding profusely from the puncture wounds caused by the collar’s prongs and required immediate veterinary care.

The prongs on the inside of this barbaric training aid caused the punctures.

The prongs on the inside of this barbaric training aid caused the punctures.

Our vet would later testify that the wounds had gone untreated for too long and had become infected. His assessment was that the collar had been left on for a prolonged period of time, contributing further to the extent of the injuries. Thanks to Shawn Riley, our dog endured unnecessary pain and suffering during her visit to Canine Country. To make matters worse, Riley refused to cover the cost of treating the injuries he inflicted. Fortunately, I prevailed against him in small claims court. And when he failed to pay the judgement, I successfully recovered the funds from his bank. More importantly, our beloved dog eventually healed.

At the vet after a stay at Canine Country with uncle Shawn

At the vet after a stay at Canine Country with uncle Shawn

Puncture wound from shock collar prongs. Injury courtesy of Shawn Riley, Canine Country

Puncture wound from shock collar prongs. Injury courtesy of Shawn Riley, Canine Country

After shaving the true extent of the injuries were revealed

After shaving the true extent of the injuries were revealed

Another satisfied customer of Canine Country

Another satisfied customer of Canine Country -- Thanks Shawn!


Actions

Information

76 responses

26 10 2009
David Naylor

Thats the most disturbing story I have read all year! I would like to use that collar on the store owner until he bleeds and then let it get infected. What an imbarrasement to the human race.

13 01 2012
Valeriethegreekinme

Although I don’t like Pitbulls, that it a horrifying cruel and sadistic story and I agree, he should be made to wear the same collar. But maybe he is already into that perverse behaviour. At the very least it should be closed down .

10 02 2012
Shawn

I understand that hearing a story like this can be disturbing

However, this story is almost completely incorrect.

It is s shame that just anybody can use media like this to lie to make their point. Its even more of a shame when anybody else just believes what they read without real research. Possibly eliminating the best source of help.

I was the only one there and I know what happened. What I can guarantee you is this: : There was NO negligence involved or proven in this case whatsoever, only the owners and others speculations. I have been caring for others animals for over 30 years. My success and safety records are unmatched by anybody anywhere. With thousands of dogs coming and going in multiple facilities over the years we have had only a few incidences ever. And so far, none involving any negligence. If one was prone to this kind of negligence it would certainly not be exclusive. I pride myself on, and work harder everyday in our efforts and philosophies regarding safety and health. My reputation stands for itself. If you are interested in the truth, please feel free to call me anytime. 503 692 5226

Thank you for your time & consideration

10 02 2012
eljugadorxxx

What’s not correct? The dog was boarded at your facility. You told us you used a shock collar on her and that she had a “reaction” to it. She was a bloody and infected mess when she was picked up. We took her straight to the vet. She required treatment. You didn’t even have the decency to pay for the vet bills. I sued you. The vet testified to the extent of the damage that occurred in your care. The judge found you at fault. You still refused to pay. I had the money withdrawn from your bank. We went to court over that. You lost again. These are all provable facts.

You’re right about one thing — only you know how the damage was actually done. So why don’t you enlighten us?

3 06 2012
Brittney

I would not trust anyone after reading this and that is not a wrong thing! I would not sit there and chance giving someone a chance to do the same thing with my baby. Would you want to give someone the benefit of the doubt after reading this and taking a chance on your dog. I would not. I wish i would have saw this before i brought my dog home today and saw her bloody nails because you cut them to short.

14 05 2013
Kaitlyn

“NO negligence involved”

The dog has an oozing neck wound that wasn’t attended to immediately at your place…do you consider that 5-star care?

30 06 2012
debra torres

I currently have my dog boarded at this facility. I started with another but chose to leave my dog with Shawn. So far, I am satisfied with his treatment of my dog. I will, however, inquire as to if he utilizes electronic enforcement devices. If so, I will consult with my vet. and allow shawn to explain to the both of us. I would expect after all of the conversations we have had he would have informed me of any hands on or electronic means of correction he might use upon my dog.

18 07 2012
eljugadorxxx

Some people have had good experiences, some haven’t. His comments on here do a pretty good job of illustrating how this guy thinks and operates and, frankly, say as much or more about his character than anything else. Unfortunately, our dogs are the one’s who must pay the price.

30 12 2009
Canine Country, Tualatin, Dog Boarding, Shawn Riley — Avoid this Holiday Season « Boarding Your Dog in Tualatin, OR? Avoid Canine Country

[...] Canine Country, Tualatin, Dog Boarding, Shawn Riley — Avoid this Holiday Season 30 12 2009 Canine Country, Tualatin, Oregon’s owner, Shawn Riley, injured my dog a few years back. Looking for a place to board your dog this holiday season? Keep looking. Read about it at Canine Country Injured My Dog! [...]

14 01 2012
natalie

Did your dog fully recover? I hope so

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

Full recovery, though I suspect she might not like it if I slapped a shock collar on her. Fortunately, that isn’t necessary.

11 12 2010
Yael Ramm

I just read your story and saw your pics. YIKES
I just answered a CL add and have an appointment to meet with Shawn re: learning to train from him. After reading your story and looking at his website I will not be meeting with him.
I am curious about his “advanced training methods”. He gives no details on his site. Can you or someone you know tell what he means?

11 12 2010
eljugadorxxx

Glad you found this before wasting your time and money. His techniques are basically what “The Dog Whisperer” advocates in his book (though a little bit less gentle).

5 06 2013
Gary

I’m hoping you will get in touch with us as we would like to use this story and want to verify the story with you directly. We can be reached at info@banshockcollars.ca.

8 04 2011
lee

Thank you so much for posting this information. I am heartbroken that this person still is allowed to make a living using dogs. If you can post this many other places that would be so helpful to other people and their dogs. This man should be restricted from working with animals. I am so sorry this happened to your dog.

8 04 2011
eljugadorxxx

I’m just glad people are finding this site.

22 04 2011
linda

Oregon Dog Trainers, Jennifer Nelson and Shawn Riley were supposed to talk to a group I belong to – they never showed. After reading this I’m glad!! They were promoted as having trained for 25 years. Their methods didn’t use or require clickers, treats or training collars. . . . YIKES!! Glad your dog’s injuries healed and that Riley had to pay.

22 04 2011
eljugadorxxx

Glad it worked out

2 05 2011
lizz

thank you for making this website so others can find out about what happened before they take there own pets to shawn. i am grateful especially since i looked into shawn’s dog training. this is horrible what he did to your pup!

3 05 2011
eljugadorxxx

Glad you found it. Good luck with your pooch.

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

Glad you found it.

1 10 2011
raquel

Why don’t you talk to any of the thousands of ecstaticclients, turned to friends, that end up willing their dogs to Shawn! I would suppose if you put the last 25yrs of your career under a microscope there would be unfortunate accidents, everyone is made aware of that risk! Bottom line, Shawn Riley is hands down one of the best trainers in the counrty! His innovative boarding and training philosophy is revered by countless trainers and vets. I suggest not excepting this SLANDER and experiencing Canine Country yourself!

3 10 2011
eljugadorxxx

Thanks for the perspective. Here’s a little perspective for you — you shouldn’t go using big words in blog posts when you clearly don’t understand what they mean. This goes double for legal terms. It makes you look like an idiot.

13 01 2012
Kim

No matter how many people you believe are happy with this guy, he made an inexcusable error with this dog. I don’t know if you can even call it an error because strapping a remote collar on a dog is certainly an intentional choice and doing it without owner consent is beyond defensible. How did he screw up? Let us count the ways: 1 – bringing dogs into a large social environment without a solid plan for managing the ones that don’t feel comfortable. 2 – using a remote collar to try to resolve this problem (a decision that will most certain exacerbate the situation.) 3 – using a remote collar on a dog without owner knowledge or consent. 4 – not checking for skin sensitivity and/or removing the collar after a few hours (as per manufacturer recommendations.) 5 – not treating the dog’s injuries. 6 – not taking responsibility for the injuries created by the “trainer’s” actions. 7 – not paying for treatment even after a judgement. …have a missed any? Yeah, probably.

So why not view this as slander and experience Canine Country yourself? I can think of at least 7 good reasons right off the top of my head. Oh yeah, I love my dog. Make that 8 good reasons.

13 01 2012
Michele

UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENTS? That was no accident! You can’t strap on a torture device and cause burns and bleeding by ACCIDENT! Get real!

14 01 2012
mpb

Hmmmm–I wonder why none of the countless trainers and vets that supposedly rever his philosophy are not coming to his defense???

And it would be “accepting”, not “excepting”. And slander is spoken, not written, statements.

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

Correct. And it isn’t slander (or libel when written) if it is actually true.

13 12 2011
Kate

Oh yes what a great trainer, leaving a bunch of dogs together, and thennleaving a shock collar on the dog so he isn’t aggressive. Which will just create bad associations with other dogs, making the dog likely to dislike dogs more in the future. And then letting the dog bleed, wooo!

Cannot believe this guy is still around doing business and stealing peoples money. Poor dogs.

12 01 2012
Map

The real issue is that no one should EVER use a shock collar on a client’s dog without getting permission. Come to think of it, no one should ever use a shock collar on a dog period.

13 01 2012
Kim

This is crazy. Why didn’t he just take your dog out of the community area? “Aggression” in the yard is usually just a sign of an uncomfortable dog and is such an easily managed problem. Why would he even take it upon himself to “train” her instead of responsibly look out for her well being? I can’t imagine how he stays in business. I’m sorry this happened to you and your dog, but I’m glad your pup is on the mend.

13 01 2012
Ugggh

Your poor furbaby! Hugs… thank you for sharing!

14 01 2012
Sarah Logan

I saw your story on Facebook, and these barbarians have an FB page. I have already left comments for them. ;-)

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

Thanks. I’m sure your comment won’t be there for long. However, this site will and, for some reason, has suddenly been getting a ton of traffic.

14 01 2012
Amanda

I use shock collars and I have my dogs on an electric fence and nothing like this has ever happened. Shock collars are a great tool when used properly. I use them for excessive barking and if we are out on the trails walking so they can roam but I still have full control. 99% of the time I use the beep button instead of the shock one and they know what it means. I don’t think my dogs have been shocked in 3 years on either the shock collar or the electric fence. I swear by these collars and if used proper they are great. I don’t see how they can make a hole in the dogs neck though…. The prongs are not sharp at all.

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

All I can tell you is when my wife picked the dog up the dog was a bloody mess. As to exactly how it happened, Shawn is the only one who might know. I don’t expect him to provide much insight.

30 03 2012
feioo

Perhaps he used the shock collar as a handle on the dog as well – a few really good jerks, like if you were “correcting” her for aggression, could probably punch those holes in her neck. It would probably explain all that bruising too.

I’m really glad you had your day in court and won – I’m not sure I would have managed to be so grown-up and and civil if someone did that to my dog.
How is your girl doing now? I hope she doesn’t end up with any lasting issues from this man’s abuse…she looks like a sweetheart.

23 04 2012
eljugadorxxx

That’s my theory on what happened, but, as he said, he’s the only one who really knows and I don’t think he’s going to fill the rest of us in. Happily, my dog is none the worse for wear.

14 01 2012
Bubba Tex

I have an American Bulldog named Louie. Louie is a rescue and his behavior can be somewhat un-predictable at times. Last night I went to walk him and he charged after one of my neighbors for example. He has never actually attacked anyone but he can sure scare the crap out of you. I use a tritronic’s training (shock) collar with him. I purchased it shortly after he started displaying some very aggressive behaviors and have used it ever since. I find it an incredibly useful tool.

The problem that you ran into was the human and not the collar!!! Most, if not all of these collars come with some sort of warning button and then the actual shock button. We used it a lot when we first got it and we had to shock him quite a bit at first. I always used the warning button (makes a buzzing sound) before shocking him and today he is a totally different boy. For most situations I simply warn (buzz) him and he becomes very compliant. It is rare these days that I would have to actually shock him but rest assured that I do when I have to. In fact we would not be able to have kept him if it weren’t for this collar. He would have had to have been put down because of a previous owner that abused him. This collar saved his life and made it possible for us enjoy him and give him a great life. He is able to be a part of our family because of the collar.

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

When properly used, my understanding is that these collars can be a good thing. Of course, when properly used, they don’t leave bloody holes in the dog’s neck.

8 02 2012
Stewie

You’re absolutely correct. This isn’t a shock collar issue, it’s a dumb person issue. A leash can do horrible damage if used incorrectly.

14 01 2012
Shawn

Firstly just do your own homework and ask ANY electronic training collar manufacturer if it would even be possible for their or any other collar to cause this type of damage. It is impossible, they would be out of business. This review was obviously from person that has some major personal problems. My reputation is almost spotless after more than 30 years of working with people and their dogs & caring for them. If I was even capable of this sort of negligence I would have been out of business years ago If you need or would like any more detailed explanation. Please feel free to contact me personally at any time. I would also be happy to supply you with as many references as you would like. Thank you for your inquiry.

15 01 2012
eljugadorxxx

Hey Shawn,

Thanks for stopping by the blog and taking the time to weigh in.

I don’t consider sharing my experience with Portland area dog owners so their pets don’t have to suffer the same fate mine did indicative of a personal problem. However this blog isn’t about me and my mental well-being, it’s about you and Canine Country. As you know full well, it is a proven fact and a matter of public record that you absolutely are capable of this sort of negligence. So let’s dispense with the bullshit, shall we?

I’m sure most people can agree that — when PROPERLY USED — these collars don’t cause the type of injuries my dog sustained while under your care. However, as you aptly demonstrated, when IMPROPERLY used, they absolutely can. Because, as the photos CLEARLY show, those two bloody puncture wounds are the exact same size, shape and spacing of the metal prongs on the shock collar that you showed the judge when I took you to small claims court in Washington County, Oregon (and won).

It is unlikely that anyone other than you will ever know EXACTLY how these injuries were sustained. The rest of us can only speculate. Perhaps you tied her up by the collar and she did it to herself while terrified and struggling to get free. Perhaps you yanked her by the collar so hard it broke the skin. Or, since you admitted to me you left the dogs alone and unsupervised while you went off to have Easter dinner, perhaps it isn’t even clear to you.

25 05 2012
Marie

We *know* it is possible for an electronic collar to do this type of damage, since we see it; ask some field people if they’ve ever left an e-collar on a dog too long…injuries not this severe, but similar. The contacts rub and cause weeping and eventually holes in the skin. This does not happen overnight!
I agree that someone here has some personal problems, but I kinda don’t think it’s this dog’s owner…Trainers like you that feel you can guarantee the future actions of an animal for life are shysters of the highest order and usually bully dogs. By the way, a behaviorist is someone who has earned credentials you do not possess – http://www.certifiedanimalbehaviorist.com/page3.html

15 01 2012
jennifer

shawn
as a trainer you did not do your research if your stating a shock collar cannot do this damage. i have a dog who has a barking issue and after many other options failed to correct this, i bought a shock collar. the collar has sound, vibrate, and shock which was used only in rare instances when the other features did not correct the behavior. my dog suffered wounds (not to the extent of the above mentioned in your care) but enough that he had 2 punctures and some scabbing from the collar. so, it is very much possiible.

16 01 2012
ali

inflicting pain on an animal to obey you can never be right what ever the situation…disgusting and disgraceful

16 01 2012
Heather

Shawn, – I was an employee of this site’s author when this happened, and I saw the damage you did with my own eyes. You’re right – you should have been put out of business a while ago. As for the author’s mental stability – I worked for him for 5 years – he’s just fine. You should, however, consider yourself lucky that he wasn’t the one to pick up the dog that day. The temptation to “settle out of court” might have been too much.

Everyone else – Pitbulls can be really nice dogs, as this one is. In fact, this dog was the office pet and was there every day. She’s a sweet little girl, not aggressive, so whatever measures Shawn used to “train” her were pretty much bullshit.

This makes me mad at you and canine country all over again!

8 03 2012
Karen

That is so disturbing like are self we have to talk dogs have to bark so not rite was break in my heart ready this so cruel I have a dog that barks at paper goin up street I cud never use anything like this on my dog so so sad

23 04 2012
Shawn

Guys, please don’t believe everything you read….this is “almost” a complete lie by a person who I helped to save the life of his severely aggressive pitbull that had been ejected by more than one other location (for severe aggression) and he had been told to euthanize by other trainer/behaviorists. With his permission we used (which was only after many hours of working with the dog and used as a safety measure only to allow the dog to be out with the other dogs) a remote (not automatic) collar (which was never even used) the dog simply had an allergic reaction to the collar itself (easy to see this by the pics) demanded I pay him a ridiculous amount of money or he would lie and slander me which I refused and here we are. He BTW is gong to be sued for a lot of money for slander / defamation very soon.

Please call us anytime with any questions!

28 04 2012
eljugadorxxx

Hey Shawn,

I really appreciate your continued posts on here. It actually helps people understand more completely who’s telling the truth and who’s full of crap. As you point out, the photos do clearly give some clues as to what actually happened — because the puncture wounds are right there in living color for all to see (take a closer look at the second picture). I’m no vet, but I’m not aware of any sort of allergies that cause puncture wounds or extensive bleeding. While it is likely you’ve seen a lot more bloodied dogs than I have, I’m going to defer to my vet’s diagnosis of trauma/puncture wounds and infection over yours if that’s OK with you.

As for your lawsuit I’m assuming you haven’t gotten all that far since you obviously don’t even have a layman’s understanding of the word “slander” and seem blissfully unaware of the word “libel.” Let me give you some free legal advice. Slander is spoken defamation. Written defamation is called libel. And, in order for something to be either, it has to be false. There’s nothing in this post but documented and provable facts. My dog was injured in your care. My dog did require immediate medical attention for puncture wounds and infected sores after being in your care. I sued you to recover my expenses relating to the injuries. I won. You didn’t pay. I recovered the funds anyhow.

Let me give you an example of something that might be more likely to be considered libel — falsely asserting on here that I demanded money from you or I would make up a story about you being incompetent. You’ll have an extremely hard time proving that because it never happened. See the difference?

So have at it, Perry Mason (or should I say Raymond Burr?). While you’re at it, why don’t you sue everyone who is reviewing you on Yelp and elsewhere online? No shortage of people voicing opinions.

As I clearly state in this blog, the reason it’s here is to help inform other pet owners about my experiences in dealing with you in the hopes that they — and their pets — don’t have to go through a similar ordeal. The more bullshit you post on here, the more people get to see the real you. A more sensible person would understand why that’s doesn’t help your cause all that much.

Anyhow, have a great weekend and thanks again for taking the time to post. :-)

23 04 2012
skoochy77

I generally believe in tough love type training for dogs that does involve the very occasional use of shock collars. They should only be used as a last resort and only ever at the lowest setting that gives the desired behavior and even then maybe used once every six months. The commenter above hit the nail on the head:
“1 – bringing dogs into a large social environment without a solid plan for managing the ones that don’t feel comfortable. 2 – using a remote collar to try to resolve this problem (a decision that will most certain exacerbate the situation.) 3 – using a remote collar on a dog without owner knowledge or consent. 4 – not checking for skin sensitivity and/or removing the collar after a few hours (as per manufacturer recommendations.) 5 – not treating the dog’s injuries. 6 – not taking responsibility for the injuries created by the “trainer’s” actions. 7 – not paying for treatment even after a judgement. …have a missed any? Yeah, probably. “

11 05 2012
Kayte

I am a dog trainer as well, in Washington State, and I have to say, I ABHOR shock collars for this reason, and for the simple fact that a dog WANTS to make its owner happy. I have found that positive reinforcement techniques and consistency win hands down over strong arm tactics in most animals. Yes, I said most. I am also a well known and often used kenneling facility and I have had dogs come in many times who have aggression tendencies. I have learned over time, that most often this is because the dog is not properly socialized nor properly introduced to the pack who may already be at my facility. Again, just like with children, consistency is the key. If you consistently reinforce good behavior with whatever your dog responds the best to (toys, treats, attention, clickers, whatever) you will find the dog WANTING to behave well to gain that reward.

Bottom line for me is this. BEFORE you put a shock collar on your dog, put it on yourself, then test it out and feel what your dog feels. I am serious. Feel the vibration, hear the noise near your ear, and feel the shock at all of the settings. If you can still use a shock collar on your dog after that, then there is nothing I nor anyone else will ever be able to say to you to change your mind. Do your research on the best training techniques, choose the one that fits your lifestyle the best, then remain consistent.

Just my two cents.

20 05 2012
bobgrant1

I’m in a totally different state, Maine in fact, and was doing research for a school assignment on shock collars when I came across this website. I feel awful about what has happened here and felt compelled to respond after reading each and every post.

Shawn: First I would like to point out that your posts drive me into the “your definitely guilty” stance. Why would you not post your responses here? Why must people telephone you? I can only assume it is because of your abilities to manipulate others with a kind, soft spoken voice. Either way it does not matter to me because I wont ever be in Oregon or utilizing your services. With that said, if I was in Oregon, I wouldn’t bring a hamster to you because you obviously do not care enough about the animals. Human decency alone is enough of a reason to help with medical bills; nobody should have to take you to court for the funds, even if it wasn’t your fault. You yourself have posted enough information on here to ruin your own credibility. You should be ashamed of yourself. I hope you eventually get mauled by a stray dog that wont put up with your crap, this way no person can be sued by you.

eljugadorxxx, why don’t you just punch this fool in the face and get it over with. He’s obviously deserves it and more. What would you get for a first offense? $100.00 fine? So be it. Heck, I think everyone that reads this would take up a collection and help you pay the fine.

I’m totally discussed after reading this — If anyone reads this and then brings their dog to this place, they too are irresponsible.

Bob Grant,
Maine.

20 05 2012
eljugadorxxx

Thanks for the post, Bob. I’ve been a little surprised that Shawn keeps posting replies that make it more and more obvious the type of guy he is. But since that’s the whole point of this blog, he’s actually the most important and effective contributor. I’m actually glad he’s encouraging people to call and discuss this incident for the same reason.

The face punching, while tempting, seems counterproductive in the long run and not worth doing at this point (He should consider himself very lucky I wasn’t the one who picked the dogs up when the incident happened).

22 05 2012
bobgrant1

I would walk right into his establishment and shock the shit out of him. When he least expected it, wham. Good night douche bag.

20 05 2012
Shawn

What I cant believe is peoples willingness to believe what you read without really doing any research. For over 30 years I have and continue to have a very successful business because my rep stands for itself. If I actually did what this person says that would be impossible. What this person says is a complete lie. Anybody can write anything they want but that doesnt make it true does it. Do you believe what you read in the enquirer….hello??? Again if you really ever wish to know the truth, contact me anytime.

20 05 2012
eljugadorxxx

Why don’t you ask John Edwards about the accuracy of what’s printed in the Enquirer? I’ve got photos, testimony from the vet and court records to back up my story and I stand by every word of it. You don’t have squat except for your bogus claim that an “allergic reaction” somehow is responsible for two puncture wounds and infection.

You’re right about one thing, though, your “rep” speaks for itself.

22 05 2012
bobgrant1

Shawn:

If eljugadorxx is in fact lying, why wouldn’t you be suing him? Lets be for real. If you weren’t guilty, why are you being so defensive? I would ignore this site if I wasn’t guilty and I would sue the crap out of the owner.

How come no court documents are posted on here as proof?

Bob Grant,
Maine.

18 07 2012
Suzi

Wow,
I boarded my dog when we were on vacation. She came home filthy and terrified. Shawn is a very high pressure salesperson. In fact Shawn is a bit of a bully as well. We figured he was just not a people person, with a good reputation for taking care of dogs. Shawn somehow managed to force his spendy traing program on us. Arriving early at the gate, because god forbid you are even 5min late! My husband and I pulled over to talk about it. Interestingly we both had reservations, so we checked him out and found your blog. We took our doggy home, and felt very good about it. Gut feelings confirmed. Thank you

18 07 2012
eljugadorxxx

I wish I had trusted my gut too. Live and learn.

18 07 2012
Shawn

So sorry you feel that way. To be able to give EVERY one of my clients the full and proper attention they deserve, it is important we are all on time (barring emergencies, of course) I fully expect ALL people understand and respect others time and scheduling and be on time or CALL IN ADVANCE if they will be late. It is very unfortunate however that some people respect others time less than they’re own. Rules do need to be applied and respected for everyone’s sake. Regarding your dog being “filthy”: As anyone would understand, any dog having fun and playing loose with or around other dogs in a natural outdoor environment will get dirty. You always have the option of a bath just before coming to pick them up. Regarding pressure to get training: I am very busy and certainly don’t “need” more work. My job is to give you all the facts and you are free to make any choice. I would never pressure unless it is regarding safety. It is my job however, to always explain all the facts as I know them, nothing more, nothing less. (sometimes we don’t really want the facts, just what we want to hear) Your dog came a long way forward in proper development during the 8 days here. Her level of anxiety due to confusion and misunderstanding showed remarkable improvement. For your dogs sake, you & you family NEED to get some high quality advice to help you to understand her better. Something private and non bribe or prevention based.

Best of luck to you!

As always, I happily invite any and all to contact me anytime with questions.

Maybe you too should do the same thing, give a phone number so anyone can contact you about your experiences.

12 08 2012
Danielle

I boarded my dog there six years ago for three weeks. He returned to us a beaten and broken dog. He had a staph infection covering his entire stomach, and he slept, literally, for four days after we picked him up. He has never been the same. We’re now treating him for spinal and neurological problems that I fully believe can be traced back to those brutal three weeks. I believe to the core of my being that this man is a criminal and a sadist, and he has no business being in business. If anyone is interested in a class-action suit, I’m on board. It is sad that these animals can’t tell us what really happens there, but I doubt we would have the stomach to hear it anyway. People who bully animals deserve as much cruelty as they inflict. I hate myself for choosing this place, but at the time, I didn’t have the benefit of reading reviews from other people who love their animals as much as I do. Beware. Stay away. Also, as I recall, we originally intended to take our pup to this man’s business partner, who owned a place in the gorge. Our dog missed the van, apparently. Not sure if they’re still connected.

13 08 2012
eljugadorxxx

Sorry to hear it. Thanks for sharing. Hopefully it will help other dogs avoid the same fate.

16 01 2013
Good for Angie’s List « Boarding Your Dog in Tualatin, OR? Avoid Canine Country

[...] business and claimed they have never done business with me. I referred them to my blog post about Canine Country in Tualatin, where they can see multiple comments from the owner. Hopefully that will jog his [...]

16 01 2013
eljugadorxxx

Danielle, be sure to leave an account of your experience on Yelp and Angie’s List. I did an Angie’s List review. They just called me to make sure the review is accurate. Apparently the owner called to tell them he doesn’t recall doing business. I referred them to this blog post, where they can see responses from him.

22 01 2013
Jessica Hayes

Dear Mr. Shawn. You claim you’re business is safe but then how did the dog in question become so badly injured? How is it the owner won the court case(es)? On top of that you run a dog care facility how the hell can you possibly think shock collars are human and safe when damages like life long seizures, brain damage, and wounds like shown on the dog can occur and often occur . P.E.T.A has even banned them in certain places. Now i’m 18 and by far not an expert or a vet but shock collars a cruel and an inhumane way to treat a dog. I don’t care of the breed or disposition every problem can be solved with tender love and care not bullshit like that. I have had several dogs in my life, some with bad behavior and never have I even considered a method of such sicking results.

23 01 2013
Shawn

Of course its 99% a lie Jessica. Unfortunately anyone can write anything they want for whatever reason they want. Thank goodness for the thousands I have helped over the last 7 years since this happened. Read my posts and if you need more proof either call me personally anytime (503 692 5226) or better yet come and visit my facility for yourself. Anyone who knows me at all would know something like that could never happen here.

23 01 2013
eljugadorxxx

By all means, Jessica, read his posts. Read all of them. As David just discovered, they tell you everything you need to know to figure out who is telling the truth and who isn’t. David, it actually is him, and he just keeps posting and keeps digging himself deeper and deeper into his hole. Better yet, read his Yelp reviews (or Angie’s List).

BTW, friends often do take care of our dogs. However, when you have a strong and willful dog, a lot of people aren’t able to handle her properly.

24 01 2013
Jessica Hayes

Then please do explain Shawn how the injuries happened, because from where i’m sitting it does look like you’re guilty and I live in Canada, even if I didn’t I wouldn’t be visiting you’re facility. I would never even consider dealing with someone who has been accused of being that cruel to such a sweet looking little girl. I say accused because I wan’t there nor do I know much about what happened expect what I have read. The only reason i’m here is to offer condolences, see if that sweet pooch is okay and to try and fathom why and how anyone could not “notice” or ignore the injuries displayed. How can you not feel overwhelmed with guilt. On another note you should not be housing all the dogs in one big open space period. They are dogs who most likely don’t know each other and a lot who are the dominant ones at home, which in the end will lead to fighting, and not because their dog aggressive but because they are scared. Aggression is just fear that has escalated to the point they feel the need to protect themselves because they do not feel safe.

24 01 2013
eljugadorxxx

The dog is fine, Jessica. She’s still a sweet loving girl.

23 01 2013
David Z

this is unbelievable!
ive heard of some poorly run kennels but just wow!
i live in Canada, parents are both business professionals… i am just shocked and almost don’t believe that “shawn” posting here is the real shawn, due to the fact that hes really in essence, giving out personal information on people and the animals they boarded.
in Canada, thats a no no…

either way, he is proving to defiantly be in the wrong.. allergic reaction or not, I personally, in his position would have felt obligated to pay for the vet bill as well as refunding the kennel fees… but i think thats the reaction of any “good” person

to shawn: your disgusting, even if what YOU claim is true…which with very conflicting and CONTRADICTING posts youve made HERE make it very VERY difficult to believe… you should have AT LEAST paid the vet, she was in YOUR care therefore you are responsible for her well being during that time. had i picked my dog up in that condition, well i drive a large ford expedition… lets just say there would be lots more open parking spaces available on your lot.

im so sorry this happened to your “child” (because to most of us, my husky is the only child i have right now and hes my baby) and im glad she has recovered from it

on a side note… dont you people meet other dog owners that can take care of your pet for you for a short time??? yeesh, i have 4 friends that would gladly take my children IF i couldnt take them with me for a week or so (and yes i feel they would take care of my baby, hence why i would consider leaving him with them)

24 01 2013
Jeanne

This is so horrible! I read your whole blog and cannot believe that this dog training and boarding facility has not been put out of business yet. I may be no dog trainer or veterinarian but I have witnessed and can testify to the extensive damage that can be done by both electronic dog training and barking collars that are used improperly. I can tell you that this is no allergic reaction from the dog to the metal prongs in the dog collar. That is just some bogus answer that the owner at this dog training facility decided to use to cover his ass with hoping that you would buy into it just like all of his other easily manipulated clients would. Even if it were true that this was caused by an allergic reaction to the dog collar (which I know to begin with is a crock of shit), why didn’t he warn you in-advance or just bring the dog to immediate veterinary care as soon as the injuries were discovered? I’ll bet that he can’t even back that one up. He’ll just dance around it like the way he has been doing this whole time. He wants you to call him so that he can use his business-like etiquette to manipulate and lie to you about it to steal your money without having to risk himself getting into more legal trouble from lying about it here. His failure to pay the medical costs even after losing the court case says it all that this guy is indeed a monster and needs to be put behind bars for animal cruelty. It is obvious that his responses here look guilty. I cannot even find myself to believe one word that he has written and I don’t even know this person to begin with. I’ve gotta ask. If one of the dogs at his “open” dog training facility were to get into a dog fight with another and one resulted with a bloody eye from the fight, would he just ignore it and leave the dog like it is, saying that it was some kind of eye infection that the dog had picked up to the owner who was ready to take the dog home? That sends chills down my spine knowing that someone can be that cruel and heartless to animals. I know for a fact that these types of injuries do not result over night. It can take days to week(s) for these types of injuries to form (especially if the prongs have broken the skin they have come into contact with) depending on how long the collar was left on, how tight the collar was on the dog, if this collar was used to jerk the animal around by the trainers, and how many times it has deliberately shocked and hurt the animal when the animal was misbehaving. I know that some dogs including pit bulls have a high pain tolerance to begin with. Most dog shocking collars usually have settings or levels of correction using voltage to defer the dog’s attention. It looks like this idiot noticed the dog was having some aggression issues as soon as the dog was brought in, pulled a dog shocking collar that was not being used from a shelf (probably one that was purchased for cheap in China that has very dangerous & fatal levels of shocks), set it to the max level of correction so the animal would behave, tightened it around the dog’s neck, and kept it on the dog (in working form) until it was time for this poor dog to leave the dog training facility. That is when the sustaining injuries were noticed by one of the staff members and that is when this idiot decided to conjure up an excuse about how the dog was having an allergic reaction to the prongs in the dog collar. It is very true to say that this injury was caused by negligence. I have seen it happen to my own dog twice after these two collars were left on him for a prolonged amount of time (about a week) and they caused two or more punctures wounds in the skin both times with a lot of profuse bleeding just like in the pictures of the dog above. A huge vet bill later after infection had already spread in, I have stopped using them and would not recommend them for anyone to use on their dogs as as form of correction–these collars will only correct your pet’s behavior *temporarily but worse, they can be very dangerous to your pet–to the point of even killing them! I don’t live nearby but I do know that I will never ever be bringing my dog to this pet boarding and training facility if I were to visit Oregon again. I will be sure to tell my family and friends who live out there to not bring their pets there. This dog trainer is a joke and needs to put out of business. I hope that most of his future clients will find this blog before giving their dog away to his animal abusing facility. I am sure that most of his success stories are made up of instilling fear into the animals that were left there or by people who brought in less problematic dogs that did not need any work. I am so sorry that your poor dog and many others had to suffer from this sick bastard’s form of training.

Jeanne Moore,
Virginia.

12 06 2013
KristianJames Lee

i almost took my dog to this guy and decided not to after my grand ma found this post, i own a pitbull. when i was on the phone wit hhim he told me about this incident but said it was a DOG BITE and NOT shock collar damage. this story hits to close t ohome for me im glad it was on the internet for me to find, YIKES!

12 06 2013
eljugadorxxx

That’s a new one.

12 06 2013
Shawn

What I said was this ” in all the years (25+) I have been caring for other peoples dogs and all in open environments only two have ever been injured by another dog” (a record unmatched by any facility I know of) And MANY of my clients have been Pitbulls

Never said anything about this incident at all.

Be careful what you say. Calling someone a liar in an open forum is considered slander / defamation and you could easily be sued

13 06 2013
Yearsagoihadafeelingaboutthisplace

You’re all correct on the gut instincts….. I had them years ago myself. There’s no supervision of the dogs, they’re out back barking like crazy, no one around. What happens if a dog gets hung up on the collar ? Anyway, the gut instincts are right on…

16 06 2013
eljugadorxxx

Interesting update — I just got a long email from Shawn. It was a very well written, well thought out apology, which I accepted. It sounds as if he has made some changes in his approach. The reality is that this event happened several years ago at this point and people are capable of making changes. I think everything that has been said on this issue has now been said. It was a bad situation but one I’m ready to put behind me. At any rate, I don’t really see a point in any additional comments being made to this page. It is part of history, but it might not reflect the current situation at Canine Country.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

